Christmas 2013

Hand knit Christmas stockings: 4 color choices (forest green, traditional green, forest floor green, burgundy) with band of trees

Hand knit Christmas stockings: 4 color choices (forest green, traditional green, forest floor green, burgundy) with band of trees

Hand knit Christmas stockings: forest green with 5 band patterns (trees, chevron stripe, plain band, geometric squares, holly)

Hand knit Christmas stockings: forest green with 5 band patterns (trees, chevron stripe, plain band, geometric squares, holly)

I am working on my new line of Christmas stockings for 2013. That sounds so pretentious. “New lines” are for Pantone color trends or Coach’s spring line of purses or Nike’s cross trainer shoes.

I opened LoopsAndLines on Etsy in August 2011.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/LoopsAndLines

I wasn’t thinking “lines,” just happily knitting. My olive and poppy red cotton stockings and my sock monkey style stockings were the big sellers. For Christmas 2012, my focus was building inventory, so I let color or style inspire me. It was the year of knitting ADD. My striped jester stockings and my sock monkey stockings were best sellers.

So I am trying to control my knitting ADD. Using stats from past best sellers, I am developing my new line for Christmas 2013. Lots of color choices for customers: traditional Christmas green, forest green, burgundy, or a rich green called forest floor. Lots of style choices too: knitted bands with a chevron stripe, a strip of holly, a strip of trees, a wide band of interlocking squares, or a band left open for personalizing.

How’s that for someone who earned a C- in Economics 101?

Off to work on inventory . . .

Leave a Reply

